EasyPeasy QuickTip #1: Time-Free Refills

One has only to look at the empty soap dispensers and bare toilet paper holders in my house to see that we are a family of consumers. Seems like every time I turn around, something needs to be refilled…wipes, pull-ups, napkins, paper towels, toilet paper, soap, zip-loc bags, cereal…the list goes on and on. So I’m delegating this chore to the kids and making them earn that allowance. I made a list of all the things that routinely need refilling and divided it between the two of them. I hung a copy of each list on the fridge and it is now their job to check the status of each item throughout the house at least twice a week and refill as required. When they deplete the stocks, they write what’s needed on the laminated “Stuff We Need” list that permanently hangs on the fridge. (There’s still plenty of room for them to write below where my daughter added “doorbell” as the top priority grocery item months ago).  I’m hoping this will have the added benefit of making them less wasteful in their consumption, but I’m not holding my breath.

Please comment...we want to hear from you!

